↑ Return to News & Dates

Calendar

Autumn Term 2017

Mon 4th September Staff Training – School Closed
Tue 5th September Year 7 only in school (Induction)
Tue 5th September, 2:00pm Additional Year 12 & 13 Enrolment Session

(main enrolment sessions will be on Results Day)

Wed 6th September All Years – Lesson 1 with Form Tutor
Wed 6th September Years 8 to 13 return to school
Thu 7th September, 3:45pm Year 7 Drop in
Fri 8th September Year 7 Bowling Trip
Fri 8th September, 9:00am Year 7, New students and Form Group photographs
Tue 12th September, 3:25pm Year 7 Cross Country at Sandringham School
Wed 13th September, 5:00pm - 6:30pm Year 7 Learning and Achievement Evening
Thu 14th September, 3:45pm - 6:00pm District Cross-Country League @ Townsend School
Thu 14th September, 3:45pm Year 7 Drop in
Fri 15th September - Sun 17th September Silver Duke of Edinburgh Expedition
Fri 15th September - Sun 17th September Year 12 Silver D of E Qualifying Expedition
Mon 18th September, 7:00pm 6th Form Induction Parents Evening
Thu 21st September, 2:00pm Dedication Cathedral Service
Thu 21st September, 3:30pm District Cross-Country League @ STAGS
Fri 22nd September, 2:00pm Year 12 Learn to Live Awareness
Mon 25th September, 7:00pm Year 12 Further Education Evening
Wed 27th September, 5:00pm Open Evening – School Closed to Pupils from 12.30
Thu 28th September National Poetry Day
Thu 28th September, 3:30pm District Cross-Country League @ Nicholas Breakspear School
Fri 29th September McMillan Worlds Biggest Coffee Morning
Sat 30th September - Sun 1st October Bronze Duke of Edinburgh Expedition
Wed 4th October No Pens Day
Wed 4th October - Tue 10th October Space Week
Thu 5th October, 3:30pm District Cross-Country League @ Verulam School
Thu 5th October, 5:00pm - 8:00pm Year 11 Parents Consultation Evening
Fri 6th October - Mon 9th October Year 11 PE Morfa Bay Trip
Mon 9th October - Fri 13th October Year 13 Biology Field Trip
Tue 10th October Mental Health Awareness Day
Thu 12th October, 3:30pm District Cross-Country Championships @ Westminster Lodge
Thu 12th October, 5:00pm - 8:00pm Year 10 Parents Consultation Evening
Fri 13th October - Sun 15th October Year 9 Battlefields Trip
Tue 17th October British Museum Art Trip
Wed 18th October, 7:00pm Friends of Townsend PTA AGM
Fri 20th October Diversity Day
Mon 30th October - Tue 31st October Year 13 Geography Field Trip to London
Thu 2nd November, 7:00pm Year 11 Sixth Form Information Evening
Tue 7th November Senior Maths Challenge
Thu 9th November Year 13 STEM Trip to KPMG
Mon 13th November - Fri 17th November Anti-Bullying Week
Thu 16th November, 5:00pm - 8:00pm Year 8 Parents Consultation Evening
Fri 17th November Children In Need Day
Fri 17th November Year 12/13 Philosophy Trip to London
Mon 20th November - Fri 1st December Year 11 and 13 Trial Examinations
Thu 7th December, 5:00pm - 8:00pm Year 7 Parents Consultation Evening
Mon 11th December, 7:00pm Senior Prize Giving
Wed 13th December, 7:00pm Christmas Concert
Fri 15th December, 12:00pm Senior Citizens Christmas Party
Mon 18th December, 2:00pm Christingle Cathedral Service

Spring Term 2018

Thu 11th January, 5:00pm - 8:00pm 6th Form Parents Consultation Evening
Thu 18th January, 7:00pm Year 11 Study Support Evening
Tue 30th January Year 8 Geography Field Trip in St Albans
Wed 31st January, 5:00pm - 8:00pm Year 9 Parent Consultation Evening
Thu 1st February Intermediate Maths Challenge
Sat 3rd February Hertfordshire Cross Country Championships and Westminster Lodge
Tue 6th February Safer Internet Day
Fri 9th February, 2:00pm Ash Wednesday Cathedral Service
Thu 22nd February Curriculum Enrichment Day – students off timetable all day engaged in enrichment activites

Students will be off-timetable for the day.

Year 7  – STEP day
Year 8 – Apprentice Day
Year 9 – Science Museum Trip
Year 10 – Careers Day
Year 11 – Revision and Exam Preparation

Tue 27th February - Fri 23rd March Tenner Challenge for years 7-9
Thu 1st March World Book Day
Fri 2nd March Worship Trip
Mon 5th March - Fri 9th March National Careers Week
Tue 6th March, 1:00pm - 4:00pm Maths Hub Meeting
Wed 7th March Rotary Design and Technology Competition
Wed 7th March, 10:00am - 12:00pm Future Heroes Event at the Fielder Centre, Hatfield
Thu 8th March, 3:30pm Year 10 Netball District Tournament @ St Albans High School
Fri 9th March - Sun 18th March Science Week
Fri 9th March - Sun 11th March Year 9 Battlefields Trip
Mon 12th March - Wed 14th March Year 11 Trial Exams – Core Subjects

Mon 12th March - Tue 13th March Year 12/13 National Apprenticeship Show – Milton Keynes. students can find out about different apprenticeships, how to apply as well as speak to people form over 100 different companies that offer apprenticeships. It is a really worthwhile event that our sixth form students find useful each year. It is predominantly for students who are not applying to university, but all students are welcome to attend.

Tue 13th March, 3:30pm Year 7 District Netball Tournament @ Sir John Lawes School
Thu 15th March, 7:00pm - 8:30pm Year 8 Options Evening
Mon 19th March - Fri 23rd March Sports Relief Week
Mon 19th March, 3:30pm Year 9 District Netball Tournament @ Sandringham School
Tue 20th March, 3:30pm Year 8 District Netball Tournament @ Roundwood Park School
Tue 20th March, 7:00pm Swanage Parents Information Evening
Thu 22nd March Creative and Performing Arts Display at the Alban Arena – Approximately 200 students and 8 staff will be rehearsing all day at the Alban Arena for the display performance at 7pm.All friends and family are welcome to watch, tickets can be purchased outside the large canteen at break time, adult – £6, child – £4

Wed 28th March, 3:00pm Deadline for return of Year 8 options forms
Thu 29th March, 9:00am Year 11 – Year Group Photo

Summer Term 2018

Wed 25th April - Fri 27th April Year 10 and 12 Geography Field Trip to Swanage
Thu 26th April Junior Maths Challenge (year 7 and 8)
Mon 30th April - Fri 4th May Year 10 Work Experience Week
Mon 30th April Year 7 and 8 Formal Assessments in Core Subjects
Tue 8th May Year 7 Geography Field Trip to River Gade
Thu 10th May, 2:00pm Ascension Day Cathedral Service
Mon 14th May GCSE and GCE Exams Start
Fri 25th May, 1:45pm Year 13 Leavers Assembly
Thu 7th June GCSE Drama Theatre Trip
Fri 15th June Year 7 Work Shadowing Day
Mon 18th June - Fri 29th June Year 10 Assessment Week
Mon 18th June - Fri 29th June Year 12 Exam Week
Mon 18th June - Tue 19th June Year 12 UCAS Trip
Fri 22nd June Final GCSE Examination
Tue 26th June Final GCE Examination
Wed 27th June, 1:45pm Year 11 Leavers Ceremony
Thu 28th June, 7:00pm Year 11 Prom
Fri 29th June, 7:00pm Sixth Form Dinner Dance
Mon 2nd July - Tue 3rd July Year 11 Sixth Form Induction Day
Mon 2nd July Year 12 Science Convention
Wed 4th July, 12:00pm Sports Day
Thu 5th July, 5:00pm New Intake Evening
Fri 6th July Enrichment Day
Wed 11th July School Show Full Rehearsal
Thu 12th July Year 6 Transition Day
Thu 12th July, 7:00pm School Show
Fri 13th July - Sun 15th July Year 13 Trip to Disneyland Paris
Fri 13th July, 2:00pm Year 10 Celebration Service
Fri 13th July, 7:00pm School Show
Mon 16th July, 2:00pm Year 9 Celebration Service
Tue 17th July, 2:00pm Year 12 Celebration Service
Wed 18th July, 2:00pm Year 8 Celebration Service
Thu 19th July, 2:00pm Year 7 Celebration Service